

The Department of Physics and Astronomy

at the University of California, Riverside

Graduation Recognition Ceremony

Lunch, 12:30p: Barkas Lounge, PHYS 3049 Ceremony, 1:30p: 138 Winston Chung Hall

June 11, 2022



PROGRAM

Welcome Professor Kenneth Barish *Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy*

Keynote Speaker Dr. Jairo Velasco, Jr Associate Professor at the University of California, Santa Cruz

Candidates for Bachelor of Science Degrees Prof Anson D'Aloisio, substituting for Prof. Rich Seto *Undergraduate Advisory Chair*

Robert L. Wild Family Award - Outstanding 1st Year Undergraduate Student

Shaina Levin Samir Kulkarni

Brown Williams Endowment Award - Outstanding 2nd Year Undergraduate Student

Peter Carney Joshua Roth Allison Tossounian Aiden Wilkin

R. Stephen White Endowment Award - Outstanding 3rd Year Undergraduate Student

Andrew Caruso

Alexander Clark

R. Stephen White Endowment Award - Outstanding Senior Undergraduate

Kristine Caspe

Mark Nguyen

Tyler Rosauer

Candidates for Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy Degrees Professor Vivek Aji, *Graduate Advisory Chair*

Outstanding Teaching Assistants

Alexandria Costantino Robert Dawson Adam Green Shirash Regmi Christoper Snapp-Kolas

Albert Staats Award for Exceptional Skills in Designing and Building Physics Apparatus

Ananya Paul (Prof. Kenneth Barish)

Benjamin C. Shen Memorial Award - Outstanding 1st Year Graduate Student

Jia-Mou Chen and Zijue Luo

Benjamin C. Shen Memorial Award- Outstanding Junior Graduate Student Researcher

Troy Losey (Prof. Shan-Wen Tsai) and Alec Peck (Prof. Miguel Arratia)

Anne Kernan Award - Outstanding Senior Graduate Student Researcher

Christopher Cain (Prof. Anson D'Aloisio) and Wei-Xiang Feng (Prof. Haibo Yu)

Robert T. Poe Memorial Scholarship Award for Outstanding PhD Graduate

GabrielCAmanda Pagul (Prof. Bahram Mobasher) and Sanaz Panahandeh (Prof. Roya Zandi)

Candidates for Bachelor of Science Degree

Azeem Bari	Josue Bonaparte
Diego Camacho	Kristine Caspe
Sanya Dhami	Lucas Fayet-Faber
Baylie Jensen	Gideon Kinzie Hawver
Javier Mendez	Nicolas Molzon
Thinh Nguyen Luong	Katherine Nguyen
Fernanda Razo	Mario Reynoso
Franklin Rosa	Tyler Rosauer
Megan Samn	Arthur Scuro
Jordan Teeter	Thomas Valenzuela
Ema Vo	Henry Woodington
Stanton Zeng	Selim Zoorob
	Diego Camacho Sanya Dhami Baylie Jensen Javier Mendez Thinh Nguyen Luong Fernanda Razo Franklin Rosa Megan Samn Jordan Teeter Ema Vo

Candidates for Master of Science Degree

Wenjun Chang

Josiah Keagy

Troy Losey

Borna Maghoul

Sean Priens

Candidates for Doctor of Philosophy Degree

Mohammed Alghamdi (Prof. Jing Shi) Zulfi-Khar Ali (Prof. Bryan Wong) Mashael Altaiary (Prof. Joshua Lui) Gerardo Alvarez (Prof. Haibo Yu) Thomas Bohn (Prof. Gaby Canalizo) Ian Chaffey (Prof. Flip Tanedo) Cliff Chen (Prof. Peng Wei) Alexandria Costantino (Prof. Flip Tanedo) John Daniel (Prof. Boerge Hemmerling) Timothy Gburek, Jr. (Prof. Brian Siana) Jarred Gillette (Prof. Fred Hamann) Stephen Hannon (Prof. Bahram Mobasher) Yunaqian Liu (Prof. Harry Tom) Nicholas Manganelli (Profs. Stephen Wimpenny & Robert Clare) Amartya Mitra (Prof. Michael Mulligan) Amanda Pagul (Prof. Bahram Mobasher) Sanaz Panahandeh (Prof. Roya Zandi) Mina Rashetnia (Prof. Yongtao Cui) Bryan Scott (Prof. Simeon Bird) Abtin Shahidi (Prof. Bahram Mobasher) Jacky Wan (Prof. Nathan Gabor) Liankun Zou (Prof. Rich Seto)

Special thanks to the faculty and staff of the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Without their help, this event would not have been possible:

Professor Kenneth Barish, Chair Professor Owen Long, Vice-Chair Professor Vivek Aji Professor Anson D'Aloisio Professor Michael Anderson Professor Miguel Arratia Munoz Professor Barry Barish, Nobel Laureate Professor Igor Barsukov Professor John Barton Professor George Becker Professor Ward Beyermann Professor Simeon Bird Professor Gabriela Canalizo Professor Robert Clare Professor Yanou Cui Professor Yongtao Cui Professor John Ellison Professor Nathaniel Gabor Professor Bill Gary Professor Fred Hamann Professor Gail Hanson Professor Boerge Hemmerling Professor Thomas Kuhlman Professor Joshua Lui Professor Allen Mills Professor Bahram Mobasher Professor Umar Mohideen Professor Michael Mulligan Professor Leonid Pryadko Professor Naveen Reddy Professor Jonathan Richardson Professor Laura Sales **Professor Rich Seto** Professor Jing Shi Professor Kirill Shtengel Professor Brian Siana Professor Flip Tanedo Professor Harry Tom Professor Shan-Wen Tsai Professor Peng Wei Professor Gillian Wilson Professor Stephen Wimpenny Professor Jose Wudka Professor Jory Yarmoff Professor Hai-Bo Yu Professor Roya Zandi

Dominica Albitre Jae Eu Theo Mendoza Christina Taylor Dr. Derek Beving Matthew Gonzales Jack Reid Namrata Tripatha Jessica Duarte Heather McDermott Bill Sutton Guille Vallejo Dr.Jonathan Eldridge Anna Medina Wendi Tapia

Congratulations Class of 2022!