Page 5 SEPT. 2021

Honors and Awards received during 2020-2021

FACULTY

John Heraty: Honorary Member of the Entomological Society of America (2021)

Chow-Yang Lee: Medical, Urban & Veterinary Entomol. Award, Pacific Branch, Entomological Society of America (2021)

Amy Murillo: Entomological Society of America Medical, Urban, & Veterinary Section Early Career Award (2020)

Thomas Perring: Excellence in Integrated Pest Management Award for the Pacific Branch ESA and the National ESA (2021)

Erin Wilson-Rankin: EGSA Outstanding Faculty Member Award (2021)

Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award (2021)

Christiane Weirauch: J.O. Westwood Medal from the Royal Entomological Society, best comprehensive taxonomic work. For "True Bugs of the World (Hemiptera: Heteroptera) by Randall Schuh and Christiane Weirauch (2021)

Hollis Woodard: NSF CAREER Award (2021)

Distinction in Student Mentoring Award, Pacific Branch of the Entomological Society of America (2021)

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research & Creative Achievement (2021)

RESEARCH STAFF

Serguei V Triapitsyn: Short-term Invitational Fellowship for Research in Japan from the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (2021),

Kristal Watrous: EGSA Outstanding Staff Member Award (2021)

STUDENTS

Student Competition at Pacific Branch ESA

(2020). Hannah Chu, Tessa Shates, Ben Nyman, and Jaimie Kenney

Chris Allen: Mildred E. Mathias Graduate Student Research Grant

Lewis and Clark Fund for Exploration and Field Research American Philosophical Society Supplementary Funding Chrysalyn (Krissy) Dominguez: Robert and Peggy van den Bosch Memorial Scholarship (2021)

Caleb Hubbard: Dissertation Year Program Award (2020)

Deena Husein: Robert and Peggy van den Bosch Memorial Scholarship (2020 & 2021)

Harry Scott Smith Biological Control Scholarship (2020)

Adriana M. Lomelí: UC-Hispanic Serving Institution Doctoral Diversity Initiative (UC-HSI DDI) fellowship.EGSA Travel Award (2020)

UC President's Pre-Professional Fellowship (2020)

Tessa Shates: Graduate Research Mentorship Program Award (2020)

Dissertation Year Program Award (2021/2022)

Department of Entomology's Exceptional Remote Teaching Award (2021)

Rob Straser: UC Global Food Initiative Fellowship (2020)

Western SARE Graduate Student Grant (2020)

Robert van den Bosch Scholarship in Biological Control (2020 & 2021)

Harry Scott Smith Fellowship in Biological Control (2021)

Julie Tsecouras: Ian and Helen Moore Marine and Aquatic Entomology Award, 2020

Mari West: Dissertation Year Program Award (2021) Outstanding EGSA Member Award (2021)

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS

Alumni and Associates, Tell us your News!

Please share your note-worthy happenings, we'd love to spotlight you in "The Buzz"

Email us at richard.redak@ucr.edu